New appointments to the board
20 January 2014

The NHS Trust Development Authority (NHS TDA) has confirmed the appointment of Maggie Ioannou as a non-executive director on the board of directors at Sussex Community NHS Trust (SCT). 

Non-executive directors use skills and experience gained from private, public and voluntary sector service to help run the trust. They do not have day-to-day managerial responsibilities, but work alongside the executive directors to help set strategy and monitor performance for the trust. 

Maggie Ioannou - non-executive director


Maggie Ioannou is a nurse by background, and has extensive professional leadership experience in community nursing, including at board level. 

In her last post she was director of nursing, quality and safety for Surrey Primary Care Trust (PCT). In this role she provided leadership on clinical quality and safety during a time of significant change, spanning the separation of the PCT’s responsibilities to commission as well as provide community services, through to the transition to the new system of clinical commissioning groups, established in April 2013. 

She replaces Caroline Becher as a non-executive director. Caroline served the board with distinction for two years until she stood down in November 2013. 

Maggie Ioannou says: “Across my career, I’ve aimed to ensure that healthcare services continually improve and that care is delivered with compassion. 

“I’m passionate in my commitment that through excellent community services we can support frail elderly people and people with long-term health conditions to remain in their communities where they want to be for as long as this is a safe and effective option for them.” 

Professor Chakravarthi Rajkumar - designate non-executive director/board advisor

We are also pleased to confirm the appointment of Professor Chakravarthi Rajkumar as a designate non-executive director or board advisor. 

He will provide advisory support to the board, and was identified through open competition as part the board’s non-executive director succession planning. He will attend board meetings and take part in the board’s discussions, but will not be a voting board member. 

He replaces David Standfast who was appointed a non-executive director in June 2013, having served as a designate non-executive director since November 2012. 

Professor Rajkumar is a clinical academic with an international reputation in hypertension and stroke management. He has trained and worked in India, Australia and the UK. Since 2005, he has been Chair of Geriatrics & Stroke Medicine at the Brighton & Sussex Medical School, based at the University of Sussex. Since 2007 has held the position of director of the comprehensive local research network (CLRN), Surrey and Sussex. 

Professor Rajkumar says: “We know that the health and care sectors need to work in new and innovative ways to care effectively for an ageing population at a time of severe pressure on the public purse. 

“As a clinician and an academic I have focused throughout my career on the delivery of effective, evidence-based healthcare of the highest quality. I will make best use of my expertise and experience in the field of geriatric medicine to support the trust as it responds to the challenges ahead.” 

Trust chair Sue Sjuve says: “Our new appointments both bring substantial experience of clinical expertise and leadership. 

“In this way they will strengthen the trust board as we work to ensure the delivery of safe, effective high-quality health and care services to some of the most vulnerable people in our communities.” 

Non-executive appointments to NHS Trusts made by the NHS TDA are subject to the Code of Practice of the Commissioner for Public Appointments. 

Maggie Ioannou has been appointed for four years from 1 December 2013 to 30 November 2017. Chakravarthi Rajkumar has been appointed by the trust for one year from 1 November 2013 to 31 October 2104. Both will receive a remuneration of £6,157 per annum. 

Full details of all our Board members

Information about Board meetings